

# **Requirements for PA Amusement Rides**

Thank you for your interest in becoming an amusement ride operator in Pennsylvania. Below are instructions that you need to know when starting up your company and registering with us.

### Registration Form-

- Attached is a company registration form that must be completed and returned to the Bureau. All correspondence must have your "Business Name" legibly printed on it. All future correspondence will be sent via email; therefore, it is vital that you notify the Bureau of any changes to your email address.
- Before a decision is made to purchase any equipment, you should call or email Joe
  Filoromo, Supervisor, at <u>ifiloromo@pa.gov</u> or call 717-215-4316 to inquire if a ride is
  approved to operate in Pennsylvania.
  - If your equipment is not considered to be an Approved Type, you can ask for the procedures to follow in order to present your ride to the Amusement Ride Advisory Board which meets up to 4 times a year.
- A picture of the equipment (especially an inflatable ride) should accompany the registration form
- Once rides are approved, you will be given a metal ID plate for each piece of equipment and a current year sticker.

#### Certificate of Insurance-

- A current Certificate of Insurance is required to be submitted to the Bureau by your insurance company prior to operating. We cannot accept the certificate if it is routed through you to our office. It is your responsibility to ensure that your agent has submitted this to our office of you may be subject to penalty action.
- Once you are a verified owner, you can view your insurance details in the online portal.
- The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Bureau of Rides and Measurement Standards,
   2301 N Cameron St, Harrisburg, PA 17110 MUST be listed as the Certificate Holder.
- Under **Description** it must list all rides/attractions that are covered under this policy OR state "All rides/attractions are insured per the (current year) PA Amusement Ride Registration.

#### • Itinerary Report-

- Every time a piece of equipment is rented or opened to the public, an Itinerary Report must be submitted online using your account or by paper. Submission to this department must be at least 15 days prior to the day of the event.
- If you are a permanent location, you must enter a yearly itinerary report and monthly submit an inspection affidavit using this itinerary.
- Rental companies must enter a yearly itinerary (to use to enter your monthly inspection affidavit) along with an itinerary for EACH time the equipment is rented.

### • Inspection Affidavit-

- o Inspection Affidavits MUST be completed prior to opening rides to the public.
- An Inspection Affidavit is required to be submitted online for each ride by a PA Certified Inspector.

- The inspector must be affiliated with the owner it is inspecting for. If not affiliated, please submit a new application indicating the new company. There is a \$50 fee per affiliation.
- For PRIVATE parties (backyard residences) you are required to send in a monthly Inspection Affidavit for each piece of equipment registered to you.
- If you rent to a PUBLIC event (school, community fair, part, etc.) you must enter the Inspection Affidavit withing 48 hours of each event.
- Paper copies of the affidavits must be signed by the inspector and their PA ID# must be printed and legible or the affidavit will be rejected.

## PA Certified Inspector-

- It is suggested that as an owner, you have someone on staff register to become an inspector.
- The cost is \$50 for 3 years per company affiliation (3 companies would be \$150)
- There is a requirement to attend a PA approved seminar to obtain credits towards the level of inspections being performed.
  - Seminars are provided by outside entities. They set their cost for the seminars. This cost DOES NOT include the \$50 fee to be an inspector.
- o The inspector should be familiar with ASTM F-24 Standards.
- Accidents must be reported within 48 hours of the incident.
- All documents must be readily available on site and include the following:
  - o Inspection Affidavit
  - Certificate of Insurance
  - Daily Inspection Checklist
  - Operator Training Documentation
  - Maintenance Logs
  - o Manufacturer's Owner Manual
  - Registration Plate with current year sticker
- It is important that you use the online portal for submitting your itineraries and inspection affidavits (these are the only things you are currently able to do online).
  - $\circ\quad$  Here is the link to the online portal:

http://www.pda.pa.gov/AmusementRides/

All documents that you may need can be downloaded here:

https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/consumer\_protection/amusement%20rides/Pages/default.aspx

All documents and questions should be submitted to the Bureau by the method of your convenience.

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Bureau of Fides & Measurement Standards 2301 N Cameron St, Harrisburg, PA 17110 Ph: 717-787-2291 F: 717-783-4158

Email: RA-Amusementrides@pa.gov