Begin Main Content Area

Governor’s Invasive Species Council Committees

Members of the Governor's Invasive Species Council and other organizations collaborate on several initiatives related to the recommendations set forth in the Pennsylvania Invasive Species Management Plan. The following subcommittees have been established to advance these initiatives. 

PRISM Program/Regional Invasive Species Management Development Subcommittee

Leader: Kris Abell, PDA

Members: Andrew Rohrbaugh, PA DCNR, Kimberly Bohn, Penn State, Brian Pilarcik, PA Lake Management Society, Erin Copeland, Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy, Jeff Wagner and Amy Jewitt, Western PA Conservancy, Piper Sherburne, PA Association of Conservation Districts, Tom Cermak, PA Sea Grant

This subcommittee works to establish a Partnership for Regional Invasive Species Management (PRISM) program in Pennsylvania.

Legislative Subcommittee

Chairperson: Eve Adrian, PDA

Members: Don Eggen and Andrew Rohrbaugh, PA DCNR, Brian Pilarcik, PA Lake Management Society, Gregg Robertson, PA Landscape and Nursery Association, Jeff Wagner, Mary Walsh, and Amy Jewitt, Western PA Conservancy, Julie Urban, Penn State, Sarah Whitney, PA Sea Grant, Stephen Rudman PDA, Brenda Shambaugh, PA Association of Conservation Districts

This subcommittee develops policy and funding recommendations regarding invasive species in PA

Invasive Species List Subcommittee

Chairperson: Krist Abell, PDA 

Members: Andrew Rohrbaugh, Jill Rose, Houping Liu, PA DCNR; Lawrence Barringer, PDA; Andy Ernst, PA Farm Bureau; Sean Hartzell, PA Fish and Boat Commission; Scott Bearer, PA Game Commission; Gregg Robertson, PA Landscape and Nursery Association; Joseph Demko, PA Department of Transportation; MaryBeth Ruh, PennAg Industries Association; Mary Walsh, Western PA Conservancy; Norris Muth, Juniata College.

This subcommittee is developing an official comprehensive invasive species list for Pennsylvania, and an assessment protocol to prioritize species on the list. In 2020, they recommended a “Top 25” list of invasive plants for addition to the State Noxious Weed List.

Communications Work Group 

Chairperson: Kris Abell, PDA 

Members: Kris Abell, Dept. of Agriculture Bureau of Plant Industry; Deb Klenotic, Dept. of Environmental Protection Communications; Haley England, Dept. of Agriculture Communications; Tara Ramsey, Dept. of Conservation and Natural Resources Communications; Kelly Donaldson and Sara Stahlman, Pennsylvania Sea Grant Communications; Felicia Lamphere, Dept. of Environmental Protection Field Operations; Amy Jewitt, Western Pennsylvania Conservancy; Michael Parker, Fish and Boat Commission Communications

This subcommittee is developing a communications plan to help increase Pennsylvanians' awareness of invasive species and actions to reduce them.

Sign-up for the Governor's Invasive Species Council quarterly newsletter, compiled and distributed by the Communications Workgroup.