Mobile Food Facilities, Fairs and Temporary Events
Mobile food facility
licenses are issued to:
- Mobile units including food trucks, stick stands, carts, and other similar structures that are mobile/transitory by design from which food is stored, prepared, processed, distributed or sold.
- Mobile food facilities physically located at one site or location for no more than 14 consecutive days, whether operating continuously or not during this time.
- A food facility that is physically located at any one site for more than 14 consecutive days shall not be considered a mobile food facility.
Temporary licenses are issued to one of the following:
Temporary Event License
Retail Food Facility operating for no more than 14 days in duration, whether consecutive or non-consecutive, in a fixed location and in conjunction with an event or celebration
Temporary events may include fairs, carnivals, festivals, or other similar temporary events
A temporary event license is specific to an event. The Law does not limit the number of Temporary Event Licenses one proprietor may apply for in a calendar year.
Commissary means an operating base location to which a mobile food facility returns daily for vehicle and equipment cleaning, discharging liquid or solid wastes, refilling water tanks and ice bins, and storing food.
A commissary may not be a residential personal use kitchen and MUST be SEPARATED from private residential use areas.
For more information on mobile food facilities and commissary requirements, SEE PUBLICATIONS – Mobile Food Facility Operation Guide
How to Apply
All NEW Applicants
- Download and/or print, the appropriate Application Packet under FORMS on the right hand side of this page.
- Mobile Food Facilities (food trucks, stick stands, carts, and other similar structures that are mobile/transitory by design) – Application Packet – Mobile Food Facilities
- Non-mobile Food Facilities (churches, firehalls, and other structures with permanent water and sewage connections) – Application Packet – Temporary License Non-Mobile
All material must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the preparation/sale of food from a retail food facility. Failure to provide all required information can delay and/or deny your plan review. Email is the preferred method of plan review submission.
Submit completed applications and requested documentation to:
or mail / fax to:
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
Bureau of Food Safety and Laboratory Services
Attn: Plan Review
2301 N. Cameron St, Room 112
Harrisburg, PA 17110
- If your county is under a County Health Department Jurisdiction, you should contact them directly for licensing. These counties include Allegheny, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Erie, Montgomery, and Philadelphia.
- Do not send money with this application
- Allow 4-6 weeks for processing
- You will receive an approval letter via email or mail
- An inspector will schedule an on-site inspection of the facility/mobile unit.
- Upon a compliant inspection, your license fee will be collected, and a Retail Food Facility License issued.
If not Approved:
- You will be sent a letter describing why the plans were not approved. Applicants are encouraged to re-submit the plans again with the corrected or requested information.
If inspection is not passed:
- You will be provided with an inspection report stating your deficiencies. When deficiencies are corrected, you can contact your inspector to request another inspection.
Renewal of Licenses – Renewal of licenses occurs annually with notification to proprietors approximately 45 days prior to the current expiration date. Renewals can also be processed online with a user account and unique business code. If you do not receive a renewal application or know your business code, contact the department at 717-787-4315.
Lost/Duplicate License – Contact the department at 717-787-4315.
|NEW Mobile food facility||$241|
|NEW Mobile under 50 seats AND owner operated||$103|
|Non-mobile Temporary Food Facility||$14|
|Change of ownership||$82|
|2nd follow-up inspection||$150|
|3rd follow-up inspection||$300|
|Duplicate license fee||$14|
|Make checks payable to "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania"|